Departments are the University’s divisions in charge of organising:

  • scientific research
  • teaching and related educational activities.

In these fields, Departments translate the University’s strategic objectives into specific actions, implement research quality assurance processes and launch scientific initiatives for the integration of knowledge and skills, also on a cross-departmental level.

The University of Milan has 31 Departments distributed across all ERC (European Research Council) sectors:

  • Social sciences and humanities (SH)
  • Physical Sciences and Engineering (PE)
  • Life sciences (LS).

The scientific research activities of the University of Milan have achieved outstanding recognition in the ranking published by ANVUR, the Italian National Agency for the Evaluation of Universities and Research Institutes, which identifies 180 Departments of Excellence as recipients of funding for the 2023-2027 period.

With 13 Departments of Excellence ‒ they were 8 in the previous evaluation ‒ the University of Milan counts more departments in the ANVUR ranking than any other Italian university.