Food Technologist

Syllabus and exam topics

Graduates with the degrees listed below are entitled to sit the State Board Exam to qualify as Food Technologists:

  • Science of Food Preparation (qualification awarded according to the procedures prior to the entry into force of Ministerial Decree 509/99).
  • Food Science and Technology (qualification awarded according to the procedures prior to the entry into force of Ministerial Decree 509/99).
  • Second cycle degree (Laurea Specialistica), class 78/S, specialist degrees in the Food Industry;
  • Master’s Degree, class LM-70, master’s degrees in Food Science and Technology.
Registering for the exam

2nd session 2021

Registrations for the Food Technologist State Board Exam will be open from 21 September 2021 to 19 October 2021.

The State exams for qualification to practice the Food Technologist profession will begin on 17 November 2021 and will consist of a remote oral exam, in compliance with Ministerial Decree no. 238 of 26 February 2021.

The procedures and deadlines for registering to the State exam are set out in the Bando di ammissione.

Candidates shall apply online through the service Domanda di ammissione Esame di Stato.

Fees and payments

State exam fees must be paid through PagoPA, the Public Administration payment service, by accessing the Servizio Gestione Pagamenti > Contributi per prestazioni d'Ufficio:

  • € 49.58 – Agenzia delle Entrate (Inland Revenue) - STATE EXAM FEE - 
  • € 400.00 - University of Milan - STATE EXAM REGISTRATION FEE

Documents to be submitted

To complete the online application for the State exam, upload a copy of:

  • receipt of the PagoPA payment of € 49.58 - STATE EXAM FEE;
  • receipt of the PagoPA payment of € 400.00 - STATE EXAM REGISTRATION FEE;
  • for graduates from campuses other than the University of Milan: self-certification of graduation;
  • for candidates who will obtain their degree after the application deadline (however, within the exam date): statement of graduation application.


Absent candidates

Candidates who have enrolled for the first exam session but are absent on exam day may submit a new application for the second session by the stated deadline. Any documentation previously submitted and any payments already made will be valid for the new application (with the exception of any balances still owing).

Examining Committee, calendars and results
Examining Committee

Chairman: Prof. Salvatore CIAPPELLANO 

Alternate chairwoman: Prof.ssa Monica BONOMI 

Prof. Fernando TATEO 

Dott.ssa Angela Maria MESSINA 

Dott. Roberto RAVAROTTO 

Dott.ssa Simona PEDRETTI 
Alternate members: Prof.ssa  Cristina ALAMPRESE, Dott. Antonello COLELLA.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

To be defined

Previous sessions
Examining Committee

Chairwoman: Prof.ssa Ernestina CASIRAGHI 

Alternate chairwoman: Prof.ssa Ella PAGLIARINI

Prof.ssa Cristina ALAMPRESE

Dott.ssa Anna Amina CIAMPELLA

Dott.ssa Ida Nicoletta CAFARO

Dott. Luigi Giuseppe PASTORI

Alternate members: Prof. Ivano DE NONI,  Dott.ssa Silvia FRONTINI.

Schedule and procedures for Technologist State Board Exams

The State Board Exams to qualify for the profession of FOOD TECHNOLOGIST, for the 1st session of the year 2020, will be held on 16 July 2020,17 July 2020 and 21 July 2020, and will consist of a remote oral exam, in compliance with Ministerial Decree no. 57 of 29 April 2020, using the Microsoft Teams videoconferencing platform.

The schedule and procedures are described in the attached notice - Avviso Esame di Stato Tecnologo.

Examining Committee

Alternate Chairman: Prof. Ella PAGLIARINI

Prof. Cristina ALAMPRESE

Dr. Anna Amina CIAMPELLA

Dr. Ida Nicoletta CAFARO

Dr. Giuseppe Luigi PASTORI

Alternates: Prof. Ivano DE NONI, Dr. Silvia FRONTINI